Catawba Wateree Water Management Group 2015 Annual Report

Our Mission

To identify, fund, and manage projects that will help preserve, extend, and enhance the capabilities of the Catawba-Wateree River Basin to provide water resources for human needs while maintaining the ecological integrity of the waterway.

A key driver for the communities that comprise the Catawba-Wateree Water Management Group is the recognition that if we keep dealing with water in the same manner we have historically, we will not be able to meet anticipated needs. Realizing this fact led to the formation of the CWWMG with the mission of addressing the needs of the Catawba-Wateree Basin. Incorporated in late 2007, this 501(c)(3) non-profit group came out of the three and one-half year stakeholder process associated with Duke Energy’s re-licensing of the Catawba-Wateree Hydro Project, part of a Comprehensive Re-licensing Agreement (CRA) that defines how the Basin will be managed for the next 40 to 50 years.

The CWWMG is funded by dues from voluntary members representing Duke Energy and the large water suppliers that use storage in the eleven lake Catawba-Wateree Project system.

Learn More

We're an open book

We track every dollar raised through membership dues and show how the projects help preserve and protect our river.

View All Financials

We are stewards of our
water resources

We proactively plan for and implement project benefitting our entire Basin.

View our Plan

  • Counties
  • Basin Boundary
  • Stations
  • Lakes
  • Members


Catawba-Wateree River Basin
Main Riverine System
State Border


Small inset showing the project locations stretching across North and South Carolina.

Our Basin, Our Team

Our member organizations manage the water you need every day. The CWWMG has 18 members; one member representing each of the 17 public water utilities in North and South Carolina which operate water intakes on either a reservoir in the Catawba-Wateree Hydroelectric Project or on the main stem of the river, and one member representing Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC (Duke Energy). CWWMG members meet regularly to formulate strategies and projects to help understand and address the Basin’s water challenges.

Our Self Study

The CWWMG conducts a self-assessment every five years, as required by the bylaws, to ensure continued regional value and increase the group’s effectiveness. We've just completed our third self-assessment, read about it here: 2023 Study. The previous assessments and recommendations can be found here 2018 Study and here 2013 Study.


Our bylaws provide the foundation on which we operate. Our bylaws can be viewed here

Our Board of Directors

Our Advisory Committee

The purpose of the Advisory Committee is to hear about plans and activities of the CWWMG and to provide feedback as individuals from an external perspective to the officers and members about general direction, governance, strategy, planning and other aspects supportive of the CWWMG’s mission. As the committee is strictly advisory in nature, none of the members are asked to commit or speak on behalf of their respective organizations or employers, but to provide a unique perspective when appropriate.  Click here to view the Advisory Committee Charter.

Our Members

  • Catawba River Water Treatment Plant (Union County, NC; Lancaster County Water & Sewer District, SC)
    Primary Representatives
    Brad Bucy
    District Manager, Lancaster County Water and Sewer District

    Aubrey Lofton
    Water Resources Division Director, Union County
  • FullName -- Full Size.jpg
    Primary Representative
    Fred Castles
    Executive Director
  • new Hickory Logo - Full Color sized.png
    Primary Representative
    Will Hamblin
    Public Utilities Director
  • City of Belmont, NC
    Primary Representative
    Jennifer Gibson
    Water Plant Superintendent
  • City of Camden, SC
    Primary Representative
    Jack Thornsberry
    Director of Public Works
  • Charlotte Water, NC
    Primary Representative
    Ron Hargrove
    Deputy Director
  • City of Gastonia, NC
    Primary Representative
    Ed Cross
    Division Manager of Water Treatment
  • City of Lenoir, NC
    Primary Representative
    Jeff Church
    Public Services Utilities Director
  • City of Morganton, NC
    Primary Representative
    Brad Boris
    Water Resources Director
  • City of Mount Holly, NC
    Primary Representative
    Jeff Womack
    Division Manager
  • City of Rock Hill, SC
    Primary Representative
    Jimmy Bagley
    Deputy City Manager
  • City of Statesville, NC
    Primary Representative
    Andy Smith
    Water Resources Interim Director
  • Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC
    Primary Representative
    Jeff Lineberger
    Director, Water Strategy & Hydro Licensing
  • Lincoln County, NC
    Primary Representative
    Jonathan Drazenovich
    County Engineer
  • Lugoff-Elgin Water Authority, SC
    Primary Representative
    Mike Hancock
    General Manager
  • Two Rivers Utilities
    Primary Representative
    Ed Cross
    Division Manager of Water Treatment
  • Town of Granite Falls, NC
    Primary Representative
    Joy Munday
    Water Treatment Facility Superintendent
  • Town of Mooresville, NC
    Primary Representative
    Allison Kraft
    Public Utilities Director
  • Town of Valdese, NC
    Primary Representative
    Eric Wilson
    Water Plant Superintendent
  • City of Tega Cay, SC
    Primary Representative
    Antonio Maturo
    Assistant Utilities Director